David has made it safely to A-Town

Image

 

Let the countdown begin! My love has left for his 9-month deployment in Afghanistan, (which will be referred to as “A-Town” from here on out). The days leading up to this deployment were very difficult. The thoughts of not being able to see him, come home and give every detail of my work day, fight him when he tickles me and beat him every night in Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy, really made me sad. Luckily, my job has been very supportive and let me work from home the Friday before he left, in efforts to soak in as much quality time as possible. So, when the departure day came it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. The hardest part was when the bus left and hearing the children scream and watching the pregnant wives cry. God always finds a way to show you things could be worse.

In my extra time I plan to focus on community outreach. I haven’t quite decided what that all means yet but I have a few plans. I have already committed to my first outreach project; I am a cheerleading coach for a local rec squad. I am very excited about this opportunity! I went last week and became stunt certified and next week is Parent Night! 

I just want to thank everyone for their thoughts, prayers, text, calls and emails. I have always been blessed with a strong support system and I happy to share that blessing with David, especially in his time of need for a few extra prayers. Also, I have his mailing address to share to anyone that may want to send him a little pick-me-up!

xoxo

One thought on “David has made it safely to A-Town

  1. Aw I know it’s going to be a long 9 months but it will only make your time together that much sweeter! Sounds like you will be keeping yourself very busy these next few months. 🙂

Leave a comment